Monday, July 21, 2008

Winners Announced for Inaugural Year of The Shirley Jackson Awards

Boston, MA (July 2008) -- In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 20th 2008, at Readercon 19, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. National Book Critics Circle Award-winning novelist Jonathan Lethem was the Master of Ceremonies.

The winners for the 2007 Shirley Jackson Awards are:

Generation Loss, Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer Press)

“Vacancy,” Lucius Shepard (Subterranean #7, September 2007)

“The Janus Tree,” Glen Hirshberg (Inferno, Tor)

“The Monsters of Heaven,” Nathan Ballingrud (Inferno, Tor)

The Imago Sequence and Other Stories, Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)

Inferno, edited by Ellen Datlow (Tor)

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

Media representatives who are seeking further information or interviews should contact JoAnn F. Cox.

No comments: